Becoming Hippies

During a recent conversation with my younger brother about how I don’t use shampoo anymore, something I said prompted him to exclaim, “What are you guys now? Hippies??”  It caught me off guard.  I like to think of myself as a pretty cool, modern lady.  It bothered me that he thought I had turned into some crazy weirdo.  But the more I thought about it, the more I wondered if my brother was right.  Maybe we were super weird.

The dictionary defines hippie as “a person who rejects the mores of established society.”  And if you’re not 100% sure what mores means (like me), Merriam-Webster says it’s “the customs, values, and behaviors that are accepted by a particular group, culture, etc.”  With that in mind, it was obvious that our family did indeed fall into the hippie camp.

Over the past 8 years or so, my husband and I have found ourselves journeying out of the mainstream on more and more issues; especially when it comes to kid stuff.  At the same time, we’ve discovered that we’re not alone in seeking alternative ways to do things.  We’ve had so many strangers, friends, and family wanting to know more about our lifestyle choices that we decided perhaps a blog was the best way to put the information out there.  We hope it helps others seeking to become less “cultured”.  🙂

Leave a Reply

